Log in:  

Register

Pro Cycling Manager - anyone played it

Come in and talk about betting, computer games and cycling simulations, and your office's or online fantasy cycling leagues.

Moderators: Eshnar, Red Rick, Valv.Piti, Pricey_sky, Tonton, King Boonen

19 Jun 2015 23:34

What about the rider ratings? Anything realistic? Because I quit PCM 2014 after 10 minutes, when I saw Betancur had the same average as Valverde.
User avatar BigMac
Veteran
 
Posts: 8,340
Joined: 10 Jun 2013 22:10
Location: Estoril, Portugal

Re:

20 Jun 2015 00:25

BigMac wrote:What about the rider ratings? Anything realistic? Because I quit PCM 2014 after 10 minutes, when I saw Betancur had the same average as Valverde.

That's all sorts of silly. Even ignoring the many custom DBs available, you can edit those values yourself.
User avatar hrotha
Veteran
 
Posts: 15,400
Joined: 10 Jun 2010 20:45

Re: Re:

20 Jun 2015 00:26

hrotha wrote:
BigMac wrote:What about the rider ratings? Anything realistic? Because I quit PCM 2014 after 10 minutes, when I saw Betancur had the same average as Valverde.

That's all sorts of silly. Even ignoring the many custom DBs available, you can edit those values yourself.


I mean my first reaction was closing the game. I obviously got it straighten out, but thanks for the tip.
User avatar BigMac
Veteran
 
Posts: 8,340
Joined: 10 Jun 2013 22:10
Location: Estoril, Portugal

20 Jun 2015 08:55

Whats the be a pro mode? You being a young rider who has to work himself up? Or you can just chose any pro and ride with that rider?
User avatar Ruudz0r
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,503
Joined: 09 Jun 2011 17:31
Location: The Netherlands

Re:

20 Jun 2015 16:17

BigMac wrote:What about the rider ratings? Anything realistic? Because I quit PCM 2014 after 10 minutes, when I saw Betancur had the same average as Valverde.

Lol, who uses the official db? why quit because of that? just use a custom db

Ruudz0r wrote:Whats the be a pro mode? You being a young rider who has to work himself up? Or you can just chose any pro and ride with that rider?

no you have to create a new rider
User avatar Dekker_Tifosi
Veteran
 
Posts: 22,182
Joined: 13 Mar 2009 23:52
Location: Roermond, the Netherlands

Re: Re:

20 Jun 2015 16:27

Dekker_Tifosi wrote:
BigMac wrote:What about the rider ratings? Anything realistic? Because I quit PCM 2014 after 10 minutes, when I saw Betancur had the same average as Valverde.

Lol, who uses the official db? why quit because of that? just use a custom db



See my response to hrotha. I'd still be interested to know if the official db is any realisitc.
User avatar BigMac
Veteran
 
Posts: 8,340
Joined: 10 Jun 2013 22:10
Location: Estoril, Portugal

22 Jun 2015 12:12

The be a pro mode is pretty damn cool. Shame it's taken them this long to put it in the game.
User avatar BYOP88
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,762
Joined: 26 May 2009 17:12

23 Jun 2015 15:26

Are editors like Full Editor or Lachi's still around or the official editors good enough these days? Is the database construction still the same as five years ago (last time I played)? Reading DT's comment, I think it's time to give this game another go after so long.
User avatar gunara
Member
 
Posts: 658
Joined: 06 Dec 2012 14:42

Re:

23 Jun 2015 15:53

gunara wrote:Are editors like Full Editor or Lachi's still around or the official editors good enough these days? Is the database construction still the same as five years ago (last time I played)? Reading DT's comment, I think it's time to give this game another go after so long.


I have last played 2011 and the database seems to be pretty much the same this year with only minor adjustments. Thus the editors from previous versions should still work without major problems.
togo95
Member
 
Posts: 518
Joined: 19 Apr 2010 12:50
Location: Waterloo, ON

Re: Re:

23 Jun 2015 16:15

togo95 wrote:
gunara wrote:Are editors like Full Editor or Lachi's still around or the official editors good enough these days? Is the database construction still the same as five years ago (last time I played)? Reading DT's comment, I think it's time to give this game another go after so long.


I have last played 2011 and the database seems to be pretty much the same this year with only minor adjustments. Thus the editors from previous versions should still work without major problems.


Thanks, mate, good to know.
User avatar gunara
Member
 
Posts: 658
Joined: 06 Dec 2012 14:42

25 Jun 2015 21:34

fulleditor and fasteditor work without a problem
User avatar Dekker_Tifosi
Veteran
 
Posts: 22,182
Joined: 13 Mar 2009 23:52
Location: Roermond, the Netherlands

26 Jun 2015 09:01

I played the pro mode, it's fine but there are some easy improvements that should be made next year.

I also played team mode with tinkoff, riding the giro right now with berto. Facing astana with landa, nibali and aru :o
User avatar Miburo
Veteran
 
Posts: 8,832
Joined: 29 Jul 2012 19:33

Re:

26 Jun 2015 13:27

Miburo wrote:I played the pro mode, it's fine but there are some easy improvements that should be made next year.

I also played team mode with tinkoff, riding the giro right now with berto. Facing astana with landa, nibali and aru :o


Do you think they have their score based post-Giro?
User avatar BigMac
Veteran
 
Posts: 8,340
Joined: 10 Jun 2013 22:10
Location: Estoril, Portugal

26 Jun 2015 13:40

They do, landa is 80 on climbing
User avatar Miburo
Veteran
 
Posts: 8,832
Joined: 29 Jul 2012 19:33

Re:

26 Jun 2015 14:12

Miburo wrote:They do, landa is 80 on climbing


Thanks. I always wondered.
User avatar BigMac
Veteran
 
Posts: 8,340
Joined: 10 Jun 2013 22:10
Location: Estoril, Portugal

26 Jun 2015 15:45

nvm he's 82. I was gonna put it on extreme for the giro, but **** that. Difficult is enough.

Nibali isn't going all out though, thank god.
User avatar Miburo
Veteran
 
Posts: 8,832
Joined: 29 Jul 2012 19:33

27 Jun 2015 12:26

BigMac wrote:
Miburo wrote:They do, landa is 80 on climbing


Thanks. I always wondered.


In PCM world, I always see Landa as a rider who will peak at low 80s on climbing, or at least 79, I remember he even won a Vuelta in an old save. Although maybe I confused the original db rating with some edited ones.
Meanwhile I remember an 82-83 material in real life has a mountain rating of 72 in PCM when he podiumed a real Vuelta for the first time :D
User avatar gunara
Member
 
Posts: 658
Joined: 06 Dec 2012 14:42

27 Jun 2015 12:46

Is there any way to change the parcours of GT's? Haven't played it in 4 years so.
User avatar Miburo
Veteran
 
Posts: 8,832
Joined: 29 Jul 2012 19:33

Re:

27 Jun 2015 17:08

Miburo wrote:Is there any way to change the parcours of GT's? Haven't played it in 4 years so.


Yes, it's very easy now, you just add the files to CM_Stages with the same name as normal GT stages and different suffix (variant name/year). They will automatically appear in the game as a variant.
togo95
Member
 
Posts: 518
Joined: 19 Apr 2010 12:50
Location: Waterloo, ON

Re: Re:

28 Jun 2015 10:26

togo95 wrote:
Miburo wrote:Is there any way to change the parcours of GT's? Haven't played it in 4 years so.


Yes, it's very easy now, you just add the files to CM_Stages with the same name as normal GT stages and different suffix (variant name/year). They will automatically appear in the game as a variant.


How about wind speed/direction, departure & arrival cities etc.? Are such things controlled from stage editor? (assuming they have retired the .xml files for variant rules & description)
User avatar gunara
Member
 
Posts: 658
Joined: 06 Dec 2012 14:42

PreviousNext

Return to Games and Fantasy Cycling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

Back to top