Contador, Armstrong and Cavendish in the race for a Nobel Prize of Sports tonight.


Jun 16, 2009
ABU DHABI: When Hollywood star Kevin Spacey today, arrives on stage to host the world's most famous sports function - to hand out the Oscars for Sports 2010 - on March 10 (Wednesday) at the Emirates Palace Hotel, it will mark the completion of a decade of 'Laureus World Sports Awards' a Nobel Prize of Sports. The first gala was held on May 25, 2000 in Monte Carlo.

Nominees for tonight:

The selection process has two stages. First, a Selection Panel of the world's leading sports editors, writers and broadcasters from over 80 countries votes to create a shortlist of six nominations in each category. They are invited by the Laureus Foundation and nominate finalists in February each year. The voting process is monitored by independent auditors PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP. Then the members of the Laureus World Sports Academy vote by secret ballot to select the Award winners.

The Laureus statuette exclusively produced by Cartier is one of the most coveted trophies and awards in sports. 30 cm high and weigh 2.5 kg containing 670 g of solid silver and 650 g pure gold - With the representation of the five continents, which are engraved on the base.

Previous winners:
* 2009 Jamaica Usain Bolt,
* 2008 Roger Federer,
* 2007 Roger Federer,
* 2006 Roger Federer,
* 2005 Roger Federer,
* 2004 Michael Schumacher,
* 2003 Lance Armstrong, wielrensport
* 2002 Michael Schumacher, formule 1
* 2001 Tiger Woods, golf
* 2000 Tiger Woods, golf

Vladimir Putin at the Laureus World Sports Awards held at the Mariinsky
Theatre in Saint Petersburg on 18 February 2008

© DoesAnybodyOutThereEvenCare
Mar 13, 2009
how did the other comebacks do? 3rd in the biggest race of the year is a pretty solid comeback.

Just checked...he shouldn't get this one.
Jul 18, 2009
Yip, just checked too. Kim Clijsters won the US open. She also became the first Wild Card champion in US Open history and the first mother to win a Grand Slam title in the Open era since Evonne Goolagong Cawley won Wimbledon in 1980. Haven't checked any of the others yet!
Jul 18, 2009
Not sure any cyclists will win to be honest. Jenson Button possibly the most high profile breakthru but difficult to know in a sport where the car plays such a big role.

In the main class Federer and Bolt have already won. I think Valentino Rossi probably deserves it for being at the top of his sport for so long, and not always on the best bike.
Mar 18, 2009
Yeah, Clijsters gets my vote nthough I like Ennis and Vlasic as athletes. Tom Watson's will probably get it though - that was some story.
Feb 18, 2010
Kim Clijsters has won the comeback award. Usain Bolt best male and Serena Williams best female athletes.