• The Cycling News forum is looking to add some volunteer moderators with Red Rick's recent retirement. If you're interested in helping keep our discussions on track, send a direct message to @SHaines here on the forum, or use the Contact Us form to message the Community Team.

    In the meanwhile, please use the Report option if you see a post that doesn't fit within the forum rules.


Gent - Wevelgem: October 11th, 2020

In this unusual year the Flemish cycling week begins with Gent-Wevelgem. Don't be fooled by the name, because after seventeen editions starting in Deinze, for at least the next six years the start will be in Ieper (Ypres). The organizers want to link the cycling event to the memory of World War I. The starting point will be the Menenpoort (Menin Gate), an important war monument. The complete race will be in Flanders Fields, the region where these World War I battles took place. Because of the pandemic the riders won't cross the French border. The final remains the same as last year, with the "plugstreets" in Ploegsteert and nine climbs, including twice the Kemmelberg. The final 34 km are flat, which can lead to a final with echelons or a sprint with a reduced bunch.


  1. Catsberg (113 km)
  2. Le Vert Mont (107 km)
  3. Mont Noir/Zwarteberg: Côte de Ravel Put (105 km)
  4. Mont Noir/Zwarteberg: Côte de la Blanchisserie (100 km)
  5. Baneberg (82 km)
  6. Kemmelberg (Belvedère) (74 km)
  7. Monteberg (70 km)
  8. Baneberg (38 km)
  9. Kemmelberg (Ossuaire) (34 km)
Recent winners:
2010 Bernhard Eisel
2011 Tom Boonen
2012 Tom Boonen
2013 Peter Sagan
2014 John Degenkolb
2015 Luca Paolini
2016 Peter Sagan
2017 Greg Van Avermaet
2018 Peter Sagan
2019 Alexander Kristoff

The men's race is 254 km long. The women's race will be 142 km.

Past winners (women):
2012 Lizzie Armitstead
2013 Kirsten Wild
2014 Lauren Hall
2015 Floortje Mackaij
2016 Chantal Blaak
2017 Lotta Lepistö
2018 Marta Bastianelli
2019 Kirsten Wild
Last edited: