• The Cycling News forum is looking to add some volunteer moderators with Red Rick's recent retirement. If you're interested in helping keep our discussions on track, send a direct message to @SHaines here on the forum, or use the Contact Us form to message the Community Team.

    In the meanwhile, please use the Report option if you see a post that doesn't fit within the forum rules.

    Thanks!

Giro d'Italia Giro d’Italia 2024, Stage 21: Roma (EUR) – Roma, 125.0k

Page 7 - Get up to date with the latest news, scores & standings from the Cycling News Community.
I don’t think I understand the full rules of what drivers are supposed to do in all circumstances. When a rider is drafting through a grouping of cars, is it the onus on the cars to get out of the way even if it is congested or bottlenecked? Not sure about this situation but sometimes it seems a bit impractical.
well the cars are expected to drive on one side of the road, so I would presume in this case, they felt the driver didn't do that for whatever reason.
 
the rules don't allow "Sheltering behind or taking advantage of the slipstream of a vehicle", no matter what kind of it is, or who is driving it.

The penalty for this always is "CHF 200 fine, 20%** penalty in the points and mountains classifications and/or 20 second to 5 minute penalty per infringement and 15 points from UCI rankings" for the rider and "CHF 500 fine" for the driver, as it was applied yesterday:

KCUsYh1.png


Additionally it says in the rules, "in serious cases, in cases of repeated infringement or aggravating circumstances or if an infringement offers an advantage, the Commissaires’ Panel may eliminate or disqualify a rider and/or exclude a licence holder" - but this did not happen yesterday.
 
the rules don't allow "Sheltering behind or taking advantage of the slipstream of a vehicle", no matter what kind of it is, or who is driving it.

The penalty for this always is "CHF 200 fine, 20%** penalty in the points and mountains classifications and/or 20 second to 5 minute penalty per infringement and 15 points from UCI rankings" for the rider and "CHF 500 fine" for the driver, as it was applied yesterday:

KCUsYh1.png


Additionally it says in the rules, "in serious cases, in cases of repeated infringement or aggravating circumstances or if an infringement offers an advantage, the Commissaires’ Panel may eliminate or disqualify a rider and/or exclude a licence holder" - but this did not happen yesterday.
Well, I can tell you only the team of Visma has been punished with a 500 CHF. NOT the team of Lidl-Trek. Which is the team of Milan. That teamcar of Lidl-Trek did the most of the pulling. But the RAI stopped to pass on those images. Milan himself was "awarded" with a 200 CHF penalty and the loss of
a few points (pointsjersey and UCI). What a joke, knowing that throwing away outside the zone a bottle and the packaging of a nutricious gel is punished with 500 CHF. This means indicating that cheating is permitted. Yet in Italy with an Italian. A few years ago a Dutch U23 his world title was stripped because doing the same, but for a shorter period of time.
So, yes. I am very satisfied that the cheating did not result in a stage victory.