• The Cycling News forum is looking to add some volunteer moderators with Red Rick's recent retirement. If you're interested in helping keep our discussions on track, send a direct message to @SHaines here on the forum, or use the Contact Us form to message the Community Team.

In the meanwhile, please use the Report option if you see a post that doesn't fit within the forum rules.

Thanks!

Help selecting first replacement tire for a gravel bike mainly used on road

Jan 13, 2021
Visit site
So I brought my bike in for a spring tune-up last weekend. Got a call this weekend that the tire I need to replace it is out of stock. I started researching online as I'm new to biking. Bike is a Salsa Journeyman Sora with 650b tires.

1. I ride almost completely on road, but unused country roads mostly. I don't want a full on gravel tire with big knobs, but I don't want a slick either. Any suggestions for almost all road riding while maintaining the ability to hop on a gravel road now and then?

2. As I am looking, I am also thinking, I have all of the tools to repair a flat in an emergency, but being new to cycling, I've never repaired a flat before, and am always worried about when I have to twenty miles from home by myself. Does this feel like a no brainer opportunity to do my first repair at home, with all the time that I need and to learn???

This is what is on there now. https://teravail.com/products/sparwood-tire#/

Have you ever removed or installed a bike tire? If not, I suggest you watch someone do it, or have them instruct you - the directions are simple, but the 'doing' can be difficult - especially with a 'tight fit'. Also, are your tires tubeless? If you carry a spare inner tube for on-the-road repair, you'll have to know how to handle the valve stem.
I've had good results with Continental wire rim bead road tires.

Reactions: jmdirt