Lesser Known Race Results 2019

Page 60 - Get up to date with the latest news, scores & standings from the Cycling News Community.
I see Scandinavia's Riwal Readynez team (4 Danes, 2 Norwegians and 1 Swede) are racing Giro de Sicilia.
http://riwalcyclingteam.dk/en/home/
Norwegian Krister Hagen successfully caught the right breakaway in the early part of the race on today’s first stage of Giro di Sicilia. But with a peloton of hungry sprinters, the gap never got big enough to chase the win in the end.

“Good day with Krister at the front”, says directeur sportif Michael Skelde. “Unfortunately, he never really got the gap he needed to win, so we ended the stage without a result. But we’re visible and we’re seeking our chances.”

Having good legs, Krister left behind his breakaway companions over the mountaintop 55 km from the finish and continued on his own.
Hagen had some minor success last year in Portugal when it was 45C.
 
Stage 2 today - Capo d’orlando to Palermo 236 km (long day)
Stage 2 starts at 10:30am CET (4:30am U.S. Eastern)

Finish at around 4:26pm CET (10:26am U.S. Eastern)

Live video from 2:50pm CET (8:50am U.S. Eastern)

With the last 30 km flat, a sprint finish seems likely - unless the break gets it.

Profile
 
For a very much lesser known race.

Maral-erdene Batmunkh just won stage 4 of the The Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn's Cup (aka Tour of Thailand). According to PCS, possibly the first pro-win (sans national championships) by a Mongolian rider.
 
Holy ***, UAE and Israel needs some lead-out training. What the hell were the doing? Sbaragli was already starting the sprint for Minali with 1k to go and Ferrari was done with 500 to go, leaving Molano exposed to the wind.
 
Last 2 km of stage 2 at
https://video.eurosport.co.uk/cycling/giro-di-sicilia/2019/manuel-belletti-trumps-rivals-on-stage-2-in-sicily_vid1182114/video.shtml

Chapeau Belletti and Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec - stage win and GC leader's jersey.

Stage 3 tomorrow - Caltanissetta to Ragusa 188 km

Stage 3 starts at 11:45am CET (5:45am U.S. Eastern)

Finish at around 4:26pm CET (10:26am U.S. Eastern)

Live video from 2:50pm CET (8:50am U.S. Eastern)

Profile


Not the same numbers as on the profile but ... Serra di Burgio


Last 5 km - interesting!
 
The 24th Route Adélie de Vitré over 197.8 km was won by FDJ's Marc Sarreau in a sprint finish -
1 SARREAU Marc GROUPAMA-FDJ en 4h52'43''
2 * WELTEN Bram TEAM ARKEA-SAMSIC MT
3 VENTURINI Clément AG2R LA MONDIALE MT
4 * SOTO MARTINEZ Nelson Andres CAJA RURAL-SEGUROS RGA 1
5 GROSU Eduard Michael DELKO MARSEILLE PROVENCE MT
6 * BARBIER Pierre NATURA4EVER-ROUBAIX-LILLE METROPOLE 3
7 * TAMINIAUX Lionel WALLONIE BRUXELLES MT
8 * BOUDAT Thomas DIRECT ENERGIE MT
9 FEILLU Romain ST MICHEL-AUBER 93 MT
10 SIMON Julien COFIDIS, SOLUTIONS CREDITS MT

My tip, Madouas, jumped off the front with about 28 km to go but got caught and became part of the sprint train for Sarreau. Not lumpy enough for Madouas probably.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

Latest posts