• The Cycling News forum is looking to add some volunteer moderators with Red Rick's recent retirement. If you're interested in helping keep our discussions on track, send a direct message to @SHaines here on the forum, or use the Contact Us form to message the Community Team.

In the meanwhile, please use the Report option if you see a post that doesn't fit within the forum rules.

Thanks!

Mountain Biking

May 4, 2021
Visit site
Looking for some help and direction as I start to get into mountain biking. I’m very new to mountain biking and just tried to do the Anthem East trail. The initial climb for a mile up the paved part and mountain trail made me realize that my cardio is no where ready for that kind of climb and riding.
Hoping for some suggestions on easier mountain trails without much climbing and under like 5 miles so that I can build up my cardio and learn about mountain biking.
Thanks in advance for all the help.
https://192-168-2-1.link/
http://tplinklogin.info/
https://192-168-1-128.link/

Last edited:
Can't help with specific trails/locations but as a general, the cardio improvement can be done more effectively before the actual MTB season: stationary bike home, spinning classes in the gym, road bike, etc.
Since that didn't happen I'd say: just ride your MTB, enjoy the vistas and technical aspects of it and the cardio/form will improve even after initial 10 mid-effort rides :)
This approach works for most of the bikers... unless you are not after some semi-pro level and more systematic training regime.
Just riding a mid-effort MTB with short uphill bursts can greatly improve your level after as few as 400-500 km. Also it's great to combine your riding with some core strength exercises during the days off bike. As core strength is very important fro things like balance and maneuvering and can make your rides way more enjoyable.