• The Cycling News forum is looking to add some volunteer moderators with Red Rick's recent retirement. If you're interested in helping keep our discussions on track, send a direct message to @SHaines here on the forum, or use the Contact Us form to message the Community Team.

In the meanwhile, please use the Report option if you see a post that doesn't fit within the forum rules.

Thanks!

Accepting medals/trophies after the winner is dq'd for doping?

Jun 10, 2009
Visit site
Bobby J recently had this to say about moving up a step following Hamilton handing back his Athens TT gold medal:
” Mick Rogers was fourth in Athens and he’s on Sky too. Last week he was asking about his bronze medal “

Look, I have NO evidence or inside knowledge that Rogers is a doper (after all he’s an Aussie, and seems like a nice guy so he must be clean, no?), but all the alarm bells are ringing, him being a veteran of such notable anti-doping teams such as the AIS squad, then Mapei, offsider to Virenque on Quick-Step, then to T-Mobile.

Him having gone from super-dom in 2006 TDF (arguably looking stronger than Kloden), and outright threat in 2007 TDF, to completely disappearing for a couple of years after [strike]Freiburg broke[/strike] he caught mononucleosis.

Does Rogers really think he has lain low long enough to pull this off again, having already got his first worlds TT gold that way (following Millar’s sanction)? Back in 2003 the “a few bad apples” line was still fresh enough that many fans could believe that there were clean winners, but today?

Bobby J isn’t asking for his Olympic silver, Dodger should just let sleeping dogs lie IMO.

Your thoughts?

Of course this doesn't apply to Schlecklet and TDF 2010 as Frandy are definitely clean, Fuentes training plans notwithstanding...

Without opening the thread, just reading the title, I thought of Rogers.