• The Cycling News forum is looking to add some volunteer moderators with Red Rick's recent retirement. If you're interested in helping keep our discussions on track, send a direct message to @SHaines here on the forum, or use the Contact Us form to message the Community Team.

In the meanwhile, please use the Report option if you see a post that doesn't fit within the forum rules.

Thanks!

Bicycle Chain Cleaner - Lynx Drivetrain Cleaner

Nov 3, 2010
Visit site
Hello Fellow Mountain Bikers,

My name is Randy, and in addition to being a NEMBA member I am a student at Tufts University studying Engineering Management along with my teammates Edward, Vanessa, and Jeffrey. As part of a New Product Development class, we have come up with a product idea which we think could be very beneficial to the mountain biking community and help to improve bicycle maintenence. In order to gather feedback and refine our product concept, we have put together a very brief survey (5 minutes). If you could pass this link along to other mountain bikers, we'd be very appreciative and value any suggestions or improvements that riders can think of!

http://www.surveygizmo.com/s3/400926/Road-Bike-Chain-Cleaning-Survey

Thank you for your time.
Randy

A

Anonymous

Honestly?

Sounds like the craziest Idea ever. If this was dragons den I would ask you how much have you invested in this so far.. And then tell you to STOP, dont put any more money into it. It is not going to sell.

Who on earth, seriously is going to buy a gadget that clips onto their bike to clean the chain as they ride. Occasional riders dont even bother cleaning their chain, and serious riders know how to do it properly. The device you are suggesting also already exists in the form of the Barbieri Chain Cleaner. All you have done is adapted it to fit on a bike.

Honestly, I see no way anyone in their right mind is going to buy your product. Please stop now before you invest any more time into it. Its doomed from the start.