• The Cycling News forum is looking to add some volunteer moderators with Red Rick's recent retirement. If you're interested in helping keep our discussions on track, send a direct message to @SHaines here on the forum, or use the Contact Us form to message the Community Team.

In the meanwhile, please use the Report option if you see a post that doesn't fit within the forum rules.

Thanks!

cycling trip info request

Dec 17, 2020
Visit site
hi everyone,
new to the forum so apologies if this has already been answered ( i looked but couldn't find anything).
i am planning a 600k, five day trip from my home in switzerland down to italy for next year and, as i have no real experience of this type of cycling trip, i have a few specific questions for those of you who have ...
  1. i am planning on around 120k per day (7-8h cycling). does this sound reasonable ? i regularly ride 3-4 times per week but only for around 1-2hrs at a time. do i need to start a different training routine ?
  2. given the fact that this is five days in a row cycling, will i need to plan a day break in there ? are there other issues i should look out for ?
  3. on the second day i'll be passing into italy via the simplon pass, a climb of 1350m. is this just head down and grind slowly to the top or is there something else i should consider when doing it ?
  4. to avoid muscle issues on the trip, should i do any additional exercices beyond usual warm up and warm down exercises ?
right, that's about it. hope you can help !
jon