• The Cycling News forum is looking to add some volunteer moderators with Red Rick's recent retirement. If you're interested in helping keep our discussions on track, send a direct message to @SHaines here on the forum, or use the Contact Us form to message the Community Team.

In the meanwhile, please use the Report option if you see a post that doesn't fit within the forum rules.

Thanks!

First real crash

Im a novice only a couple of years in but yesterday I joined the road rash club. I found a corner at 18 mph and some mud found my rear tire. BAM, hip bruised lots of skin missing and helmets ARE cool. Bike in good condition most importantly, gonna need some new handlebar tape........:eek:

Oct 18, 2009
Visit site
Shave your legs and grease 'em over with then cooking oil. Or, if you can afford it, the proper stuff, then you'll just slide over the road.:D
Oh and wear mittts.
But who am I telling? i haven't been on a bike for 6 years!

Ellen degeneres are you saying Haussler and Coyot didn't really crash on thursday??

its funny, I boxed for a number of years. It reminded me of getting dropped by a punch. Everything is good and BAM you dont know what happened for a few seconds. It explains the empty looks of riders immediately following a crash.

May 13, 2009
Visit site
zealot66 said:
its funny, I boxed for a number of years. It reminded me of getting dropped by a punch. Everything is good and BAM you dont know what happened for a few seconds. It explains the empty looks of riders immediately following a crash.

That is similar to my experience, the times you think you are going to crash you usually hold on and don't(crash). The times you don't know wtf happened and are all of the sudden on the ground...those tend to hurt. Good luck with the recovery.

A

Anonymous

Ah, that wonderful morning after "**** i cant move" moment :D

Aug 4, 2009
Visit site
Welcome to Cycling at least they didnt have to scrape you up off the road with a shovel.
Get well soon.