• The Cycling News forum is looking to add some volunteer moderators with Red Rick's recent retirement. If you're interested in helping keep our discussions on track, send a direct message to @SHaines here on the forum, or use the Contact Us form to message the Community Team.

In the meanwhile, please use the Report option if you see a post that doesn't fit within the forum rules.

Thanks!

Late age Top Talent?

I am a cyclist of middling talent. I started training since 13. When I were 16, I met our local hero. He started his first race just after a few times of rode with a 100 usd bike. In his first race, he won by sole effort at the very begining of race easily.

Weeks later, he won elite open race with junior age.

Then, he was discovered by coach and years later, he became world champ.

I knew that no matter how hard I train, I cannot touch to him.

IMO, a world class talent could be easily identifed from middling talent.
It will be more clear if the World Class Talent grew up from a weak cycling community.

I trained 10 years and can't win a small race in asia. If I could drop everyone easily sunddenly from late age, I think there is only one reason.

What do you think?

Aug 31, 2012
Visit site
toolittle said:
If I could drop everyone easily sunddenly from late age, I think there is only one reason.

Incorrect. There are in fact many legitimate reasons that can account for a marginal proportion of that performance increase. Jointly, however, they can account for all of it!

What if you started to warm down, bring your own pillows to hotels, train properly, used a wind tunnel for the first time in your life, got rid of a parasites you may have been carrying around all this time? Further, suppose that all this coincided with the dawn of a new era of cycling where the peloton doesn't dope any more.

It's possible you would be able to drop everyone easily.

DirtyWorks said:
Yes, doping. See most of Sky's grand tour squad.