Question What about a fantasy cycling season

Page 7 - Get up to date with the latest news, scores & standings from the Cycling News Community.
Stybar and Kragh reach Hem with 8km to go. It's the last significant cobblestone section with a length of 1,4 kilometres.
MVDP faces 9 seconds, tongue almost hanging on his front wheel. A gladiator in the arena, delivering a legendary fight. Will he overcome the last hurdle?
The others are still in contention too, being only 10 seconds behind Van der Poel.
Last edited:
With exactly 4 km to go, on this familiar uphill road, MVDP is captured by his pursuers again. Asgreen is controling every acceleration and being the perfect help for his teammate in front. The two have more than 15 seconds again.
Following a failed atempt by GVA and Pedersen, it are Van Aert and Naesen who manage to set up a counter attack. They still seem strong, but Asgreen is on their wheel. We have three people hunting the duo in front now, but there are only 2 kilometres left.
Flamme rouge! The last kilometre of the race, and unless something weird happens, it's gonna be between Stybar and Kragh Andersen. Brilliant work by Asgreen, who keeps Van Aert and Naesen at 13 seconds.
Last edited:

What a big "Finally" for the Czech rider, 34 years of age! After coming close already in his very debut in 2013, reaching the top 10 on six of his previous seven participations with two second places, it's a really deserved and long-awaited victory for Styby!
Last edited:
Kragh tried to come around in the last straight metres, but didn't have enough left in the tank and finished on a clear bike length. Very strong and promising performance by the 25 year old Dane though.
In the sprint for the lowest podium spot, it was Van Aert who was just an inch faster than Naesen. Asgreen was a happy fifth and went celebrating with Stybar right away. Van Avermaet proved to be the quickest for sixth, an exhausted Van der Poel finished on a ninth place.
Reactions: sir fly
  1. Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Deceuninck-QuickStep 5:49:11
  2. Søren Kragh Andersen (Den) Team Sunweb s.t.
  3. Wout van Aert (Bel) Team Jumbo-Visma +9"
  4. Oliver Naesen (Bel) Ag2r-La Mondiale s.t.
  5. Kasper Asgreen (Den) Deceuninck-QuickStep +11"
  6. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) CCC Team +23"
  7. Mads Pedersen (Den) Trek-Segafredo s.t.
  8. Ivan Garcia Cortina (Esp) Bahrain-McLaren s.t.
  9. Mathieu van der Poel (Nld) Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
  10. Dylan van Baarle (Nld) Team INEOS +28"
  11. Florian Sénéchal (Fra) Deceuninck-QuickStep +59"
  12. Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo s.t.
  13. Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Education First Pro Cycling s.t.
  14. Niki Terpstra (Nld) Total-Direct Energie s.t.
  15. Nils Politt (Ger) Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
  16. Frederik Backaert (Bel) B&B Hotels-Vital Concept + 1'17
  17. Sebastian Langeveld (Nld) Education First Pro Cycling s.t.
  18. Elia Viviani (Ita) Cofidis + 2'02
  19. Arnaud Démare (Fra) Groupama-FDJ s.t.
  20. Quinten Hermans (Bel) Circus-Wanty Gobert s.t.