• The Cycling News forum is looking to add some volunteer moderators with Red Rick's recent retirement. If you're interested in helping keep our discussions on track, send a direct message to @SHaines here on the forum, or use the Contact Us form to message the Community Team.

In the meanwhile, please use the Report option if you see a post that doesn't fit within the forum rules.

Thanks!

Will Maximum heart rate increase?

Jul 20, 2011
Visit site
I have returned to riding this year after a 20 year gap.

I am now approaching 40, over weight and unfit so not expecting to reach the standards i did when i was 18.

When I started training i was riding on spin bikes in the gym (had to save for a bike) and bought a heart monitor to help gauge my rides and look for improvements. I had not used one before so had no idea of my heart rate range.

My resting heart rate (sat around before a ride) appears to be about 70 (and i have seen posts that imply that this will drop with fitness) but i was confused by the max heart rate registered. No matter how hard i go (including now on the road) i have never registered a heart rate of more than 165. i have seen friends who are far from fit who have that as their average rate on a ride.

I can kill myself up a climb. 165. intervals in the gym 160. this was almost the opposite of what i expected. I was expecting to see 180 when i sat on the bike due to lack of fitness.

guess my question is does anyone know if this is normal? is this something that will change with time? is this because my legs give in before my heart does? is it my breathing technique not getting in enough air (i am gasping at the end of efforts)? like i say this is the only time i have used a heart monitor so have no idea what rates i was registering when i was racing when i was younger. (except when they took my heart rate in hospital after dislocating a shoulder in an accident and commented that 59 was fairly low for someone in that state)