• The Cycling News forum is looking to add some volunteer moderators with Red Rick's recent retirement. If you're interested in helping keep our discussions on track, send a direct message to @SHaines here on the forum, or use the Contact Us form to message the Community Team.

In the meanwhile, please use the Report option if you see a post that doesn't fit within the forum rules.

Thanks!

Aluminum spokes

Nov 22, 2010
Visit site
A hundred years ago, when I was a structural engineer, I learnt that aluminum, although a third the weight of steel, was also a third as strong. So if aluminum is used for spokes it will be three times the cross section to get equivalent strength. I also see to remember that fatigue was not very good for aluminum. And the additional size of the aluminum spokes must increase the drag?

So (Mavic), why aluminum spokes?

Brian.

In my opinion, it's just a cheap-ish way for companies to cut the weight up to100g on mid-range wheels for marketing purposes. For example, Campag Eurus have alu spokes, while Zondas have steel. Apart from that, the wheels have very little differences (if any), and the Eurus are reportedly 73g lighter.

Yes, 'tests' I've seen show that broad, flat spokes create more drag than oval spokes. High-end wheels tend to have smaller, oval, steel spokes.

Mar 10, 2009
Visit site
I've no doubt that the main reason is weight.

I have 8000kms+ on a pair of Ksyrium SL Premium's with zero defects. Bearings are smooth, rims are dead straight, stiff and true after 18 months. I look after them.

No doubt, they're an accident waiting to happen, but at the moment I can not question their value or performance.

Just being even handed ;)

May 23, 2011
Visit site
I think the biggest issue would be eventual fatigue. I have a pair of Eurus made before Campy changed to aluminium spokes. They have been very durable. I do not think I would buy a new set with aluminium spokes.

Nov 22, 2010
Visit site