• The Cycling News forum is looking to add some volunteer moderators with Red Rick's recent retirement. If you're interested in helping keep our discussions on track, send a direct message to @SHaines here on the forum, or use the Contact Us form to message the Community Team.

In the meanwhile, please use the Report option if you see a post that doesn't fit within the forum rules.

Thanks!

Need advice

May 21, 2017
Visit site
Hi guys I'm a newbie here and looking for advice/help etc, I've never rode a road bike before, mountain biking yes but not road, in a few month I'm going to be cycling round about 68 mile down and looking for tips and anything you can help with regards excersize beforehand also diet tips etc, what my ideal weight should be etc, anything u can help with would be great thanks guys.

Thanks guys

Phil

Just find a saddle that is comfortable for the amount of time - about 4 hours for 68 miles if you don't stop too often or for too long. I'd suggest drinking something such as Gatorade throughout the ride, and be sure to have some energy/candy bars to eat.

Unless the route is especially hilly, I don't think any special exercise will be needed beyond developing the endurance needed for the length of the ride. It's not necessary to ride the full 68 miles in training, but you'll need to be able to ride 30 miles at a good clip without stopping - and feel strong enough to do it day after day.

Jay Kosta
Endwell NY USA