Scheldeprijs: April 10th, 2019

Finally it's time for the race everybody has been waiting for, the most important of spring classics: the Scheldeprijs! It's named after the Scheldt river, which the riders will cross several times. For the second time it will start in the Dutch town of Terneuzen. The final consists of two local laps of 17.8 km each. The cobblestones of the Broekstraat come 8.5 km before the finish. It's often decided by a sprint in Schoten, province of Antwerp.

Recent winners:
2009: Alessandro Petacchi
2010: Tyler Farrar
2011: Mark Cavendish
2012: Marcel Kittel
2013: Marcel Kittel
2014: Marcel Kittel
2015: Alexander Kristoff
2016: Marcel Kittel
2017: Marcel Kittel
2018: Fabio Jakobsen
I wonder if Kittel and Greipel can still win now that they've moved to a smaller team. Modolo is there too and last year's surprise winner Jakobsen. Of course it doesn't have to be a bunch sprint. Maybe a group of smaller names will attack and provide a nice race.
Re: Re:

Anderis said:
Velolover2 said:
Why isn't this a monument? :D
Because it would be an undeserved degradation for Scheldeprijs to be put in the same category as Paris-Roubaix or Ronde van Vlaanderen.
The weekend racers realize this one is too tough for them. To win the Scheldeprijs it takes a giant with exceptional endurance and audacity. Someone like Kittel.
Feb 20, 2019

Jakobsen will win this bike race, again. He's shaping up to be one of the best sprinters in the peloton. Lefevere says he's "really abnormal", in the best way possible. He thinks that Jakobsen will be the one to rival his fellow countryman Groenewegen in the near future. He definitely relegated Hodeg a spot down the DCQ sprinter's pecking order and according to himself he had to put Viviani under pressure in training by holding his wheel while sprinting and he ended up beating him more often than not. :eek: In any case, he's obviously one to watch in this race.