• The Cycling News forum is looking to add some volunteer moderators with Red Rick's recent retirement. If you're interested in helping keep our discussions on track, send a direct message to @SHaines here on the forum, or use the Contact Us form to message the Community Team.

In the meanwhile, please use the Report option if you see a post that doesn't fit within the forum rules.

Thanks!

Beryl Burton.. Did she...

beryl

shame you don't have more info.................where / what / when?

good on ya for asking the question............this is the place to do it

i have no knowledge of beryl doping but she was always someone that i have

looked up to..................a humble hero..........i have always accepted that

she rode 100% clean..................not as i truly know but i have never heard

otherwise.............and there is beryl's own quote..........'raced on nothing

stronger than a cup of tea'................and her fondness for hard work / jelly

babies and liquorice allsorts

Oct 16, 2010
Visit site
hondated said:
Some weeks ago now in a local cafe I got talking about BB and her achievements in cycling and I was amazed to learn from an old cyclists that although he could not confirm it he thought that she may have been on drugs.

His opinion was based on something his now deceased wife who raced against her in France had once told him.

Why I find that so interesting is that the focus always seems to be on the men who dope but very little on the women.

Stands back and waits for flack.

Somebody "thought" that BB "may have been" doping, but "could not confirm".
And drugs, could be recreational.

Anyway, BB raced in the 1950s.
I would not be shocked to hear women doped in the 1950s, but without context and more specific details there really is nothing to see here.

btw, women doping does get attention here, just that there is much less to comment on. Less positives, mainly.

Jul 15, 2010
Visit site
hondated said: