True, officials working the SEA-BUF game last Monday made some mistakes. But not the mistakes you all think. The biggest mistake, not blowing the whistle soon enough on the FG attempt when Sherman hit the kicker. SBNation posted this article with in depth analysis that is spot on, including video of the play (clearly identifying when the whistle blew) and a close-up snapshot of Sherman just before contacting the kicker showing him touching the ball in what I would call an attempt to knock the ball out of the holder’s hands.
SBN article title: "Don't be mad at Richard Sherman because he knows the rules better than the referees"
LINK:
http://www.sbnation.com/2016/11/8/13561208/richard-sherman-block-field-goal-seahawks-bills-officials
But to know whether there was a personal foul for UNNECESSARY ROUGHNESS, TAKING A SHOT AT A PLAYER IN A DEFENSELESS POSTURE, or ROUGHING THE KICKER you either must know the rule book thoroughly or study it. Looking at the rules (below) that come into play in this case, it is a wonder the officials don't get more calls wrong. You can download the 2016 NFL RULE BOOK at the link below.
RULES LINK:
http://operations.nfl.com/media/2224/2016-nfl-rulebook.pdf
Article 2 and 12-2-6h:
ARTICLE 2. RUNNING INTO FREE KICKER. A player of the receiving team is not permitted to run into the kicker before he recovers his balance. See also 12-2-6-h for personal fouls against the kicker.
Penalty: For running into the kicker: Loss of five yards.
RULE 12 - PLAYER CONDUCT
SECTION 1 BLOCKING, USE OF HANDS AND ARMS
ARTICLE 1 - (k) roughing the kicker or holder (see Section 2, Articles 10 and 11);
SECTION 2 PERSONAL FOULS
ARTICLE 6. UNNECESSARY ROUGHNESS. There shall be no unnecessary roughness. This shall include, but will not be limited to:
(h) a kicker/punter, who is standing still or fading backward after the ball has been kicked, is out of the play and must not be unnecessarily contacted by the receiving team through the end of the down or until he assumes a distinctly defensive position. However, a kicker/punter is a defenseless player through the conclusion of the down (see 12-2-7-7);
Penalty: For unnecessary roughness: Loss of 15 yards. The player may be disqualified if the action is judged by the official(s) to be flagrant. If the foul is by the defense, it is also an automatic first down.
Did Sherman break Article 2? The kicker, having not yet kicked the ball, had no balance to recover. The intent of Article 2 is to protect a kicker after the ball has been kicked. Even though Sherman touched the ball before it was kicked, it does not matter when Sherman touched the ball. He did touch it and so there is no unnecessary roughness under Article 2.
Did Sherman break rule 12-2-6-h? Rule 12-2-6-h covers a situation that is not applicable to the play in question (tough by just a hair in timing) because the ball had not been kicked when the ball was touched by Sherman, so therefore the kicker was not OUT OF THE PLAY. So, rule not broken. But there is still the defenseless player aspect of the rule. So, let’s examine that. First the rule book defines defenseless posture (12-2-7-a, or just 7-a here), and then defines what the prohibited contact is (12-2-7-b).
12-2-7-a, 12-2-7-b:
ARTICLE 7. PLAYERS IN A DEFENSELESS POSTURE. It is a foul if a player initiates unnecessary contact against a player who is in a defenseless posture.
(a) Players in a defenseless posture are:
(1) through (6) - I omitted as irrelevant to this situation.
(7) A kicker/punter during the kick or during the return (Also see Article 6-h) for additional restrictions against a kicker/punter).
(8) through (11) - I omitted as irrelevant to this situation.
(b) Prohibited contact against a player who is in a defenseless posture is:
(1) forcibly hitting the defenseless player’s head or neck area with the helmet, facemask, forearm, or shoulder, even if the initial contact is lower than the player’s neck, and regardless of whether the defensive player also uses his arms to tackle the defenseless player by encircling or grasping him.
(2) lowering the head and making forcible contact with the crown or “hairline” parts of the helmet against any part of the defenseless player’s body.
(3) illegally launching into a defenseless opponent. It is an illegal launch if a player (i) leaves both feet prior to contact to spring forward and upward into his opponent, and (ii) uses any part of his helmet to initiate forcible contact against any part of his opponent’s body. (This does not apply to contact against a runner, unless the runner is still considered to be a defenseless player, as defined in Article 7.)
Penalty: For unnecessary roughness: Loss of 15 yards and an automatic first down. The player may be disqualified if the action is judged by the official(s) to be flagrant.
During the play in question, Carpenter is a defenseless player. No doubt. But did Sherman commit any of the prohibited acts defined in 1 through 3 above? No. Per to the rule book it was not a personal foul. Examining the rule book’s definition of prohibited contact (1-3) gives understanding to the official’s comment that the contact was not “severe” enough to be called a foul against a defenseless player. What about Roughing the Kicker? See Article 10.
Article 10:
ARTICLE 10. ROUGHING/RUNNING INTO THE KICKER. No defensive player may run into or rough a kicker who kicks from behind the line unless such contact:
(a) is incidental to and occurs after the defender has touched the kick in flight
(b) is caused by the kicker’s own motions
(c) occurs during a quick kick or a rugby-style kick
(d) occurs during or after a run behind the line
(e) occurs after the kicker recovers a loose ball on the ground
(f) occurs because a defender is pushed or blocked (causing a change of direction) into the kicker
(g) is the result of a foul by an opponent
Item 1. Roughing the kicker. It is a foul for roughing the kicker if a defensive player:
(a) contacts the plant leg of the kicker while his kicking leg is still in the air
(b) slides into or contacts the kicker when both of the kicker’s feet are on the ground. It is not a foul if the contact is not severe, or if the kicker returns both feet to the ground prior to the contact and falls over a defender on the ground.
Note: When in doubt, it is a foul for roughing the kicker.
Penalties:
(1) For roughing the kicker: Loss of 15 yards from the previous spot (personal foul) and an automatic first down. The player may be disqualified if the action is flagrant.
Defenders are always taught to avoid contact with the kicker unless the defender can get a piece of the ball, and go full gas until the whistle is blown. If a defender rushing the kick contacts the ball, then kicker protections go by the wayside. This is covered by rule 12-2-10-a (10-a above). The odd part of the field goal attempt is that Sherman was so far offside he touched the ball before it was kicked. The best a defender can typically do is get a piece of the ball after it is kicked. But timing of when the ball was touched really does not matter. The officials went with the intent of the rule. Since Sherman got a piece of the ball the officials could not call it roughing the kicker.
But the whole situation would have been avoided if the officials had blown the whistle when Sherman jumped offside unabated. If the whistle had been blown when it should have, Sherman would have to stop, and then if he plowed into the kicker you have a personal foul with possibility for ejection. So, why is it when a defender (e.g. DE) jumps offside unabated when a QB is in the shotgun the whistle blows immediately and the play stops? And why didn’t the officials blow the whistle when Sherman jumped?
It was a relatively simple mistake by the officials to not whistle the play dead before Sherman had a chance to complete his part in the play. Just blow the d*** whistle. But, like it or not, the worst Sherman can get is a 5-yard penalty, NOT a 15-yard PF.
Hope that clarifies the not so obvious. Because sometimes when it looks like a this or that, it is not this or that. It is something else. Same analogy applies sometimes to the question of "What is a catch", right?